Odds & Ends

::  The daffodils that we planted last autumn are up now.  Known as Gigantic Stars, they have been a rousing disappointment.  The bulbs that have managed to bloom are a whopping 8-10″ high.  Whether we planted them wrong [ain’t hardly likely] or whether the winter took its toll on these bulbs [could be possible], I don’t know.

All I know is that tall beauties, they are NOT.

::  A few months ago I bought a Clarisonic Mia 2.  It’s a rechargeable,  face-washing device.  Rather cute, actually.  I’d read about it and wondered if it was worth the price.  Well I gotta tell ‘ya that for me, it has been great.  In fact, when I went to the salon for a haircut the woman who has cut my hair for years commented that my skin looked so much clearer.

So there you have, proof positive that this device is worth the cost.  😉

::  I am a lousy ironer.  Z-D, on the other hand, is a marvelous ironer.  So last night, while watching the final March Madness game, Mr. Man was ironing his pants.  While doing so, unbeknownst to him, a stink bug was inside a pant leg and Zen-Den ironed the stink bug– thereby killing it.  Mr. Man didn’t squish the bug as much as he flattened it, meaning there was no stink.

The things you learn…

::  Over the weekend we finished watching Torchwood.  [Spoilers, Sweetie]  The last year of the series, Miracle Day, took place in America and was a darker story– much less Dr. Who-ish.  I enjoyed it, if only to see Wayne Knight [Newman from Seinfeld] play a heavy [figuratively] and to find out that Captain Jack Harkness is, indeed, indestructible.  But there was lots of violence & blood– and a disturbing, but believable, plot line that did not reflect well on the human race.

I’ll be thinking on this one for a while.

[Hello FTC!  I think that you know by now that when I recommend something I have not been given this something by the manufacturer.  No, I’m just saying, in my opinion, I liked it.  So we’re good FTC, right?] 

10 thoughts on “Odds & Ends

  1. Perhaps the best way to get rid of all stinkbugs is to iron them. I can see it now, the loony bin peolpe driving up to find me running around outside with an iron calling out bugs. This is how the World ends . . . not with a bang but with a stinkbug.

    Like

    • Z-D, funny. T.S. Eliot is turning in his grave! 😉

      Perhaps ironing stinkbugs to death could be your retirement occupation? You could get a van with a snazzy logo and vanity plates on it.

      Like

  2. We must be about a month ahead of Ohio in bloom times. The daffodils have bloomed and are gone now. Everything else is in bloom—dogwoods, azaleas, cherry trees, and something we have all along our side yard called Chinese fringe flower—all beautiful!
    Glad to hear about the face washer. I’ve always wondered about those.
    I am not an ironer, never have been. If Tim needs any shirts ironed, he does them himself.
    We haven’t watched Torchwood at all. We did see the new Captain America movie, though. It too, was full of violence, but we really enjoyed it! I’m not a comic book person, but have liked the Marvel movies.

    Like

    • Beth, I think that you’re right about the bloom times. The grass is green here, but no forsythia or tulips yet.

      The Mia 2 is quite a good find. Effective + easy-to-use.

      I don’t know anything about Captain America. It’s a comic book I take it? As a child I never was allowed to read comic books, but I was allowed to watch wacko British TV shows on PBS. Go figure?

      Like

  3. I had never even heard of a device for washing faces. (I mean, aside from a washcloth. Or maybe a loofah. But I’m not sure either of those would qualify as a device. An electric loofah? I like the word loofah. Really, I don’t have much to say, but I know you like it when people comment, so I’m commenting. I suppose I could just say “hi.” Hi!)

    Like

    • alejna, HI! Thank you for your meaningful comment. You are a delight and a good bloggy friend!

      And as for the Mia 2, it’s quite a nifty little device. I’m always skeptical about such things, but this one I like. Using it reminds me of the difference between using a manual toothbrush and an electric one. The first is adequate, the second is much better.

      Like

  4. I’d never heard of that device either-whoa! There are daffs around my town everywhere(I don’t have any though), but they are on their way out and now it’s TULIPS which I do a number of, as you know. Some of them are not as tall as I expected either; I blame myself for planting them too deeply.

    Like

    • Margaret, I see the Mia 2 for sale in lots of places around here. Maybe it’s an east of the Mississippi thing.

      I’d be the first to admit that we planted our daffs too deeply EXCEPT THAT we used a paper measuring ruler that came with the bulbs. I think that we planted them properly– and that the stated height on the pkg was hype. 😦

      Like

Comments are closed.