Yesterday’s Turkey Is Today’s Soup

My mother was a very good cook.  Not a chef mind you.  A cook.

I have her cookbook of all sorts of practical, yummy recipes.  Mom got most of her recipes from magazines and from the newspaper– then tweaked them.

Here is one of Mom’s recipes.  I have no idea of the original source, but do know that this makes a very tasty, rather healthy soup.

Enjoy!

Split Pea Soup With Ham & Turkey

2 carrots (or more)

2 celery stalks

1 medium size onion

2 small turnips (or use cabbage)

1-16 oz. package of dry green split peas

2 Tablespoons salad oil (or less)

1/4 lb cooked ham, diced

2 teaspoons salt (or omit entirely)

1/4 teaspoon allspice

1 bay leaf

1/4 teaspoon cumin (more or less depending on preference)

8 cups water

1 lb cooked turkey cut into 1/2 inch pieces

###

1.  Dice carrots and celery.  Chop onion.  Peel and dice turnips (or chop cabbage if using that instead of turnips).  Rinse peas with cold water and discard any stones or shriveled ones.

2.  In pot with salad oil in it– over medium heat– cook carrots, celery, onion and turnips (or cabbage) until tender crisp.  Stir in peas, ham, allspice, bay leaf, cumin and the water.  Over high heat cook to boiling.  Reduce temperature to low, cover and simmer 45 minutes.

3.  Stir in turkey.  Cook 10-15 minutes longer to blend flavors.

Makes 6 main dish servings (huge) or 8 soup servings (normal size)

###

[FYI, when I make this recipe I use cabbage, half the recommended amount of salt, and triple the amount of cumin.  But you do whatever suits your fancy.]

[Also, in recent years I’ve made this soup substituting leftover rotisserie chicken from the grocery for the turkey.  I’m sure that Mom would approve.]

4 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Turkey Is Today’s Soup

  1. I’ve never used cabbage or chicken in pea soup – this sounds really tasty! I’m curious about the texture. My pea soup is a very thick porridge like consistency. Does this come out really thick or is it a more “soupy” soup? Interesting spicing, too. Mmmm.

    Like

  2. My mom used to make a delicious cabbage and bean soup, very yummy. She is also a fantastic cook and tweaks all her recipes to our tastes. (hmmm, is that why we think she’s so fantastic?) In our family, if a recipe calls for cheese, she uses twice as much since we’re cheesoholics. 🙂

    Like

  3. Margaret, I think that you’re probably right about how fantastic cooks know how to tweak the recipe for the intended guests. Never realized that before. Oh, the things I learn!

    Like

Comments are closed.